Tiny spurts to a new you

“If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we aren’t really living” – Gail Sheehy

Image credits: Pinterest

I have been through so many different phases in my life. I’m pretty sure you would have been too. Each phase comes with a task of figuring things out and giving ourselves an update to dance to the next tune of our life.
I was once a voracious reader. What I loved the most about reading was the amount of life I used to feel while reading them. Each character we come across in a book tends to grow with every chapter, and later ends at a phase that has made a better, the best, at times even the worst version of themselves. My love for reading had almost everything to do with this particular element, aka “ the character development”.
In medicine, we have a term referred to as the “growth spurts”. It is defined as “a period of accelerated growth in an individual”. During every growth spurt our body goes through profound changes, i.e, we grow. Whilst the spurts in our body are limited to just three, I believe our mind is capable of an infinite number of them. If our beliefs and opinions were to remain a constant all through our life, there wouldn’t be any development of our character at all. The reader will be left with just corpses in the end.
Often at times I have heard people tell me of how different my opinions on a particular subject were at an earlier stage of my life. Quite contrary to their popular belief, I’m very well aware of this fact. Every tiny change occured within me all because I had allowed it to happen, because I realised whatsoever I believed in until yesterday weren’t precise enough to remain a constant forever.

Copyrights Reserved ©

Leave a comment